Thailand Travel Information and Travel Guide Thailand









Thailand Provinces



Thailand Provinces

Thailand is divided in 75 provinces (called changwat both at singular and plural), grouped in 5 groups of provinces and Bangkok as capital.

Each province is divided in small districts – there were 795 districts (Amphoe) in 2000, 81 districts (king Amphoe) and 50 districts of Bangkok (khet). Despite these, some parts of the provinces from the Bangkok’s neighbouring are considered as part of the Big Bangkok (Prari Monthon).

These provinces include Samut Prakan, Nonthaburi, Samut Sakhon, Pathum Thani, Samut Sakhon and Nakhon Pathom. The name of each capital of the provinces (mueang) is the same as the province’s name. For example, the capital of the Chiang Mai province is amphoe mueang Chiang Mai. The 75 Thailand Provinces are: in North:


Chiang Rai, Lampang, Phrae, Tak, Uttaradit, Chiang Eai, Lamphun, Uthai Thani, Phayao, Phitchit, Sukhothai, Nan, Mae Hong Son, Nakhon Sawan, Phitsanulok, Petchabun and Kamphaeng Phet. In East: Chon Buri, Trat, Rayong, Chachoengsao, Sa Kaeo, Chantaburi, Prachin Buri. In South, the Thailand provinces are: Phuket, Phang Nga, Chumphon, Ranong, Yala, Krabi, Thammarat, Satun, Trang, Pattani, Narathiwat, Surat Thani, Phatthalung, Nakhon Si Thammarat and Songkhla. The Thailand provinces from North-East are:


Thailand Provinces

Buri Ra, Udon Thani, Kalasin, Yasothon, Si Sa Ket, Mukdahan, Surin, Loei, Nong Khai, Udon Thani, Amnat Charoen, Roi Et, Chaiyaphum, Ubon Ratchathani, Nakhon Phanom, Sakon Nakhon, Khon Kaen, Maha Sarakham, Nong Bua Lamphu and Nakhon Ratchasima.

In Centre, the Thailand provinces are: Sing Buri, Samut Songkhram, Ang Thong, Nonthaburi, Suphan Buri, Samut Prakan, Chai Nat, Bangkok, Samut Sakhon, Phetchaburi, Lop Buri, Ratchaburi, Pathum Thani, Saraburi, Kanchanaburi, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Nayok and Prachuap Khiri Khan. In Thailand, Sukhothai means the luck’s aurora; .


the Thailand province is the capital of the homonym province. On January 25, 1964, it was declared UNESCO monument. Bangkok has one of the longest names in the world, for a city: Krung Thep Mahanakhon Amon Rattanakosin Mahinthara Ayuthaya Mahadilok Phop Noppharat Ratchathani Burirom Udomratchaniwet Mahasathan Amon Piman Awatan Sathit Sakkathattiya Witsanukam Prasit.


The province has a population of about 8. 540.000 inhabitants and is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, a commercial and economic centre that can compete with Singapore and Hong Kong.


With a population of about 1.550.000 people, Chiang Mai is one of the biggest Thailand provinces.


Beside the mentioned number, about 170.000 are living in the Chiang Mai’s surroundings, with the rest divided in 21 districts from Chiang Mai and two sub-districts.

80% of the Chiang Mai people are locals born here and speaking a dialect that easily varies of the Thailand language.

Provinces in Thailand


The rest of 20% is represented by other Thai people and foreign people that moved to Chiang Mai for a job, study or retirement. About the Thailand province Chiang Mai it is said to be a city of a distinct beauty, and with a self cultural heritage. Together with the numerous antique temples, the nature added its own imperial works to compose a symphony that attracts national and international tourists.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

   2006 - 2011