Thailand Travel Information and Travel Guide Thailand









Thailand Government



Thailand Government

The Thailand government of the Royal Thailand Government is the Kingdom of Thailand’s unitary government.

The country has been a constitutional monarchy since 1932, with a parliamentary democratic system.


The Thai government’s present structure was established by the Constitution of 2007.


17 constitutions had Thailand so far but the government’s basic structure was kept the same.


Judiciary, legislative and executive branches make the Thai government, whose system follows the Westminster system.


The three braches have as location the capital of the country, Bangkok. The executive branch’s head is the prime minister who is also the Cabinet of Thailand’s leader. This is why he has the prerogatives to remove or appoint any Minister chosen by him.


Thailand Government

He also represents Thailand abroad and is the principal spokesman of the government, being the government’s most visible member. Baan Phitsanulok is the official residence of the prime minister, a mansion situated in the Bangkok’s Dusit district.


Abhisit Vejjajiva is the current Thai prime minister; he was appointed in 2008, on December 17 and is a member of the Democrat Party. The Thai Cabinet is also called the Thailand Council of Ministers and it has 35 deputy ministers and minsters of state in its component. They run the Kingdom’s cabinet ministries.


The state employees’ principal part is compromised in the twenty cabinet ministries, the Cabinet being responsible for the execution and the formulation of the government’s policies. Unlike the other countries, the Thai Cabinet Members don’t have to be member in the lower house but the most of the times, they are. The Government House of Thailand is a building complex that houses the Cabinet offices and the Prime Minister’s office.


The actual cabinet’s members were officially sworn in on December 17, 2008, by the Thailand’s King. Five parties made the present cabinet, forming the current coalition; the five parties are: the Bhumjaithai Party, the Democrat Party, the Friends of Newin Group Party, the Thai United National Development Party and the Chart Thai Pattana Party. The cabinet is comprised of three deputy prime and 21 ministries of state.


Thailand’s National Assembly is a bi cameral legislature comprising 2 houses: the House of Representatives and the Senate. The legislative branch has its actual form since 2007.

Government Thailand

The total number of the National Assembly is 630; both the members of the Senate and the members of the House of Representatives have meetings at the Thailand’s Parliament House.

Three distinct systems compose the Thailand’s Judiciary: the Constitutional Court, the Administrative Court system and the Court of Justice system. 76 provinces, called changwat, both singular and plural, divide Thailand; there is a ministry of interior that appoints the governors of all provinces excepting two of them, where the governors are elected: Pattaya and Bangkok. An interesting fact is that each of the provincial capital has the same name as the respective province. 19 of the Thailand cabinet’s ministers are from the Democrat Party, like the minister of finance, the minister of defence, the minister of foreign affairs and the minister of culture.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

   2006 - 2011